another shawl

I think I have like an inch to go on the shawl I’m making for my friend, and I need to finish that, but in the meantime, while I was on vacation last week, I started another shawl, this time for my mother. It’s in Bernat Soft Boucle in kind of a thundercloud color.

I’ve also put Cherry’s hat on needles but I haven’t gotten very far with it (I’m about an inch into the brim). While I was on vacation, my little friend Scout asked me to make her a hat too, so I need to choose the yarn for the brim and then I’ll make her one as well.

After that I think I really need to learn, finally, to knit on circular needles. I’m such a pussy. The shrug I want to make for Cherry (and later, for myself) is on circulars — it’s basically a couple of yarn funnels sewn together along one edge. It’s awesome, but I need to learn how to do the circular thing. Maybe I’ll learn by making her another top (actually following the pattern this time) and the matching skirt, then do the shrug, which involves decreases.

And I’m still working on my sweater…very very slowly…