I finished!


finished coat!

Originally uploaded by lothie

I finished my coat last night. Once I got the sleeves set in, the last bits (seaming up the sides and arms) went very quickly. I’m really happy with how it turned out; it’s not error-free but it really works. The coat looks and fits exactly as I expected it to. In short, I’m really pleased with the coat.

That said, I’m not sure I would ever want to repeat the experience. I do have to say that if I ever do a seasonal project again, I want to start it WELL before the season in question so that I can pursue it in a more leisurely fashion. For the last month plus I’ve been all “MUST FINISH COAT CANNOT HAVE FUN” and that’s just not okay.

Anyway, I now feel confident that I can knit sweaters and all that, having been forced to get a bit past my comfort level in terms of setting in sleeves and all that. A simple stockinette sweater will actually be easier than this coat, now.

One thought on “I finished!

  1. Gail says:

    I really want to knit the “Long Coat”. It is wonderful. Unfortunately, that edition of Vogue Magazine is no longer available, and Vogue won’t help me get a copy of the pattern. Do you still have it? If so, can I buy a copy from you?

    THX – Gail

Comments are closed.